Make your own free website on

The Requirements for Eagle Scout

The requirements for the Eagle Scout rank were revised effective April 1, 1999.
  1. Be active in your troop or patrol for at least 6 months as a Life Scout.
  2. Demonstrate Scout spirit by living the Scout Oath (Promise) and Scout Law in your everyday life.
  3. Earn a total of 21 merit badges (10 more than you already have), including the following:
    1. Camping
    2. First Aid
    3. Family Life
    4. Citizenship in the Community
    5. Citizenship in the Nation
    6. Citizenship in the World
    7. Communications
    8. Personal Fitness
    9. Environmental Science
    10. Personal Management
    11. Emergency Preparedness OR Lifesaving*
    12. Swimming OR Hiking OR Cycling*
    13. * You must choose only one merit badge listed in items g and j. If you have earned more than one of the badges listed in items g and j, choose one and list the remaining badges to make your total of 21.)

  4. While a Life Scout, serve actively for 6 months in one or more of the following positions of responsibility; Boy Scout troop: Patrol leader, assistant senior patrol leader, senior patrol leader, troop guide, den chief, scribe, librarian, historian, quartermaster, junior assistant Scoutmaster, chaplain aide, instructor, or Venture crew chief. Varsity Scout team: Captain, cocaptain, program manager, squad leader, team secretary, librarian, quartermaster, chaplain aide, instructor, or den chief.
  5. While a Life Scout, plan, develop, and give leadership to others in a service project helpful to any religious institution, any school, or your community. (The project should benefit an organization other than Boy Scouting.) The project idea must be approved by your Scoutmaster and troop committee and approved by the council or district before you start. You must use the Life to Eagle Packet, BSA Publication No. 18-927, in meeting this requirement.
  6. Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.
  7. Successfully complete an Eagle Scout board of review.
NOTE: If you have a permanent physical or mental disability you may become an Eagle Scout by qualifying for as many required merit badges as you can and qualifying for alternate merit badges for the rest. If you seek to become and Eagle under this procedure, you must submit a special application to your council service center. Your application must be approved by your council committee on advancement BEFORE YOU CAN WORK ON ALTERNATIVE MERIT BADGES.

Back to Requirements Page.